We are pleased to announce the shortlisted books and authors for the 2023 Afrika Redefined Indie Book Prize.

The Afrika Redefined Indie Book Prize is awarded annually for the best independently published book (fiction, poetry, and non-fiction). The Prize is open to African independent writers resident on the continent and in the diaspora.

The Afrika Redefined Indie Book Prize is managed by Mystery Publishers, a Kenyan premier pan-African independent publisher with a bias toward African speculative fiction and genre/pop literature stories.

The Prize aims to recognise quality self-published books with unique and extraordinary stories addressing current and future Africa (Afro-currency and Afro-futurism) for books at most three (3) years old since publication.

The 2023 winner shall receive Ksh 30,000, scholarships to select creative writing courses at Mystery Creative Writing Training Institute and a book distribution offer to all Mystery Publishers distribution channels.

The 2023 Prize was only open for Kenyan books/authors, and after thoroughly reviewing the submitted books, public voting is now open for the shortlisted books.

  1. Back-fence Talk by Caroline Mbaya
  2. Gooka from the Village to the City by Eng. Peter Nduati
  3. Beyond by Davis Njoroge
  4. The Leaves of May by Muthoni Maina
  5. The Hot Chalice by Hamisi Wawire
  6. Peeling the Cobwebs by Bonface Nyamweya
  7. The Alternative by Peter Muchai

Please, vote for the book with the most compelling story that addresses our current and future Africa.

Click Here to go to the Voting Board.